Nervous, nervous, nervous

This coming Sunday I will be running my longest run to-date, a 15k.

Due to an ongoing back injury that sidelined my training a few different times, I am not anywhere near as prepared for the run as I would’ve liked to have been. I’ve been going back and forth with myself about whether I should even attempt it, but I think at this point I’m going to just push myself to do it and see how it goes.

I guess I’m mostly nervous because there is a time limit. Runners must keep a pace of 15 minutes per mile. While my average pace is usually about 12:30, I’m just afraid that because of the length of the run, I’m going to fall below the 15 minute pace. If I do, I will likely have to be transported to catch up with the group. I can’t even fathom how embarrassed I will feel if that happens! I’ve talked to my husband about it quite a bit and he is nothing but positive and believes I can do it without any problems. Agh, I just hate self doubt!

I’ll have a full report after the weekend but for now I guess I just have to remember…

a8d158d7f4212ea25aab73d541391f10

3 thoughts on “Nervous, nervous, nervous

Leave a Reply

