Back on Two Wheels

Back when I first learned that I was going to have surgery, the thing that upset me the most, surprisingly, wasn’t the fact that I had to have surgery, but the fact that I knew I was going to miss out on one (and likely two) of my favorite bike-related events; 30 Days of Biking and the Chico Wildflower Century .

If you’re not familiar with it, 30 Days of Biking is an annual event where you pledge to ride your bike every day in April. I participated last year for the first time, and it was an awesome experience! It’s a great way to get back into riding a bike if it’s been a while since you were on two wheels. I highly recommend that you make the pledge next year!

The Chico Wildflower is an organized bike ride in Chico, CA. The ride features several different routes ranging from 12-125 miles. Something for everyone! Last year, after I started riding a bike again, I decided to challenge myself by signing up for a long distance bike ride and completed the metric-century route. Since I knew that I would still be recovering from surgery during this year’s ride, I through that I would likely not be able to ride in the Wildflower. This week though, I feel like I cleared a big hump in my recovery and I’ve started to ride my bike again. I’ve been feeling so good being back on two wheels that I started thinking that I might actually be recovered enough to participate in the Wildflower ride. After mulling it over for a few days, I decided to bite the bullet and sign-up!

 

 

Since I haven’t had anytime to train I chose the Flatflower 60 route, a 60 mile ride through the orchards and rice fields of the northern Sacramento Valley. Now, I really have no plans to push my body beyond what it can do right now, and I’m fully prepared to bail out on the full 60 miles, especially since the ride is only a little over a week away, but I am SUPER excited to just be able to participate in this ride again.

How about you? Have you participated in either 30 Days of Biking or an organized bike ride?

Leave a Reply

