Bike to Work Day is coming!

1404619_10152013301479561_1858793763_o

Source: youcanbikethere.com

May is National Bike Month, and where I live, May 8th is Bike to Work Day. Commuting by bike has become one of my favorite things. It’s a great workout, and riding to work on two-wheels really changes my attitude for the rest of the day. I’ve noticed that I’m much less cranky or sluggish if I ride my bike to work. I’m sure my co-workers are thankful for that!

I know a lot of people think that bike commuting is something they could never do, and many cite reasons ranging from safety (“riding a bike in traffic is really unsafe”) to hygiene (“but, I’ll be all sweaty when I get to work”) to practical considerations (“how do I carry the stuff I need to take with me on a bike?”), as to why they can’t do it. Honestly though, while these are all things that should be considered, they shouldn’t be an excuse to not commute to work by bike. Next week, I’m planning to write a post about my commute and how I deal with all of these issues, so stay tuned!

So, back to Bike to Work Day. I’m super excited to take part in this great event! It’s an awesome opportunity for people to try commuting by bike for the first time, and it makes the commute extra special for those that do it frequently. Many cities put on special events for Bike to Work Day, and in the San Francisco Bay Area, where I live, Energizer Stations will be set-up along popular cycling routes all of the Bay Area. The stations will feature free coffee/breakfast treats and SWAG bags. And, well, like most everyone, I do love me some free SWAG!

Look for my write-up on Bike to Work Day on Friday, as well as my very late write-up of the Chico Wildflower Century Ride I did back in April.

Until then…have you ever tried commuting by bike? Are you planning to join in on the Bike to Work Day fun this year?

2 thoughts on “Bike to Work Day is coming!

  1. Pingback: How About a Suit Designed for Biking to Work | Do Dooni Chaar

Leave a Reply

