All bikes all the time!

May is National Bike Month and in the spirit of bike month and the fact that it’s now officially cycling weather, I’ve been doing a ton of bike related stuff. Actually, that’s about the only active thing I’ve been doing! Oops, guess I’m a little obsessed at the moment.

At the start of May, I joined the Team Bike Challenge as part of both a team and my company. I’m tracking all of my commuting miles and so far have bike commuted about 140 miles.

In early May, the San Francisco Bay Area celebrated Bike to Work Day. It is a great event that encourages people to try bike commuting. All of the bay area counties participate by setting up energizer stations throughout their counties. The energizer stations handout free breakfast and swag bags, because, hey, who doesn’t love free stuff! Even for a regular bike commuter like me, Bike to Work Day is a fun event and the extra little goodies are a nice way to make the morning commute a little more fun.

wpid-wp-1400709544140.jpeg

Riding into the Prince Gateway Park

Energizer station hosted by REI and the Bicycle Czar.

Energizer station hosted by REI and the Bicycle Czar.

wpid-wp-1400709615622.jpeg

Fruit, pancakes, coffee, and Swag bag perk up an otherwise routine morning commute!

Fruit, pancakes, coffee, and Swag bag perk up an otherwise routine morning commute!

My trusty Trek taking a break while I inhale some delicious pancakes.

My trusty Trek taking a break while I inhale some delicious pancakes.

Catching the rising sun on my way to work.

Catching the sun rising over Sonoma Mountain on my ride to work.

Along with my regular bike commuting and fun rides this month I also participated in the Sonoma County Backroads Challenge. I’m going to do a full write-up on the Challenge in the next day or so, but for now I’ll just say that it was definitely a challenge!

So, did you try bike commuting this month or during Bike to Work Day?

Leave a Reply

