Trying Something New – Weekly Workouts

When I first started this blog, I noted that one of the hardest things for me, in terms of getting healthier, is my lack of consistent exercise. I started out the year aiming to move at least 5 days a week, but my plans got a bit derailed with the health issues I experienced a few months ago.

Well, now that I’m pretty much back to normal and doing regular activity,  I want to get back to making sure that I’m doing some kind of physical activity at least 5 (if not 7!) days a week.

i work out

To help me stay accountable and keep myself on track with that goal, I’ve decided to do a review of my workouts for the previous week, every Monday. I’m hoping that seeing it all written down will keep me motivated to continue moving every day, and to help me see if I need to change anything if I’m struggling. So, without further ado, here’s what I did last week:

Workouts – Week of May 26

Monday

  • 80 minute bike ride
  • 15 minute walk with the dog

Tuesday

  • 53 minute bike commute

Wednesday

  • 60 minute bike commute
  • 30 minute walk with the dog

Friday

  • 60 minute bike commute

Saturday

  • 75 minute bike ride

Sunday

  • 98 minute bike ride

Woo hoo! I actually did meet my goal last week! 6 out of 7 days isn’t bad. I do want to start adding in some other types of exercise beside biking, and my goal is to do that this week. We’ll see how it goes. It’s hard to get motivated to exercise early in the morning, especially because I bike commute, but I want to start adding in a workout before I leave for work. I didn’t do that today, but am aiming to start that tomorrow.

My other big hurdle for getting healthier is my diet. While I generally eat a good diet when I cook or eat at home, eating out is one of my biggest huddles to a healthier lifestyle. A lot of the time, when I get home I am too tired to cook and I end up getting take out or going out to eat. I know a big part of this is planning-related. I want to do better and not eat out as much and to do that I NEED to shop and prep stuff for the week on the weekends. Starting next week, I’m probably going to add a short food review to this weekly review so I can also stay accountable with my food choices. I’m trying to stay positive, but man, lifestyle changes can be so hard sometimes. I need to remember to take things one day at a time so that I don’t start to feel overwhelmed!

Leave a Reply

