Starting Over With Running?

So, it’s been almost 2.5 months since the last time I ran.

I  had surgery in March, and the Dr.’s orders were that I could not run until a full 2 months had passed. Well, that 2 months came and went, and while I had imagined being giddy and throwing on my running shoes as soon as the 60th day clicked by, I didn’t. Why? Honestly, I was a little scared to start running again because I knew, that in some ways, I would be starting over with running. And, really, starting over kind of sucks!

I’ve never been a strong running. I’ve never been very fast and it’s always been hard and never really gotten easier. Granted, I haven’t been much of a regular runner, and I know that once I get going again and make it a regular routine, it will probably get easier/better. Still, I knew it was going to be an uphill battle getting to where I was before the surgery; able to run just a couple of miles without stopping. Even though I *wanted* to run, my head kept getting in the way and I ended up giving in to the fear.

Well, now, I am being forced to get past the fear because on Sunday I am signed-up to run one of my all-time favorite races, the Sacramento Women’s Fitness Festival 5k! This event was the first ever 5k I did, way back in 2010, and I have run it every year. I LOVE that the run is open only to women and the post-run expo and breakfast are awesome! Even though I hadn’t been running, I didn’t want to miss out on participating this year.

This week, my plan has been to get in a couple of short runs to prepare for Sunday. I did my first one yesterday during my lunch hour. Was it hard? Yes! Was it as bad as I thought it was going to be? Definitely not! Even though I only ran 1 mile and I was breathing hard and running slow, it still felt great! I even ran the whole mile without stopping! Tomorrow, I’ll be doing another lunch-time run (runch?) and am aiming to go a bit further than Monday.

It-Pays-Off_WEB

As for the 5k on Sunday? My plan is to take it nice and slow (aiming for a 12 min/mile pace). I still haven’t decided whether I want to try to run the entire route or do the run/walk method. Any thoughts?

I’ll have a full recap of the upcoming weekend’s shenanigans, including (possibly) a long bike ride and Sunday’s run. Until then, send me good run vibes!

Leave a Reply

