The 21 Day Fix experiment is over – Week 3 Recap and Review

Well, 21 days have passed since I started the 21 Day Fix.

Week 3 started off well but by Tuesday, I started feeling kind of crappy. I pushed through and continued with the workouts, though in all honesty, I wasn’t pushing as hard as I should have. My eating was kind of all over the place too. While I mostly followed the plan, I ended up eating some sugary, carb-laiden treats on a couple of days.

On Friday I went to work as usual, but I was feeling pretty crappy. By about noon that day I was feeling completely awful. I ended up leaving early. By the time I made it home, I had a fever, muscle aches, chills, and was generally feeling like complete crap. I knew that I should’ve listened to my body earlier in the week and slowed things down and rested but my stubbornness got in the way. I need to learn to take better care of myself in those situations. Needless to say, I missed my workouts on Friday and Saturday, and I ate almost nothing those two days. By Sunday, I was feeling almost back to normal and decided that it was probably ok to do the Sunday workout since it was yoga, and was fairly low key.

All of the shenanigans of Week 3 had me convinced that I had probably gained weight or at least stayed at the weight I was last week. I definitely didn’t think that I was going to have lost any weight. Well, imagine how surprised I was when I stepped on the scale this morning and found that I had lost another 2 lbs!! I am now officially 10.5 lbs. away from my goal weight! I am so SO happy that I started this experiment and stuck with the program (mostly) for the 21 days. While I wasn’t expecting any crazy results, I’m honestly surprised by the amount of weight I lost and the changes that have happened to my body.

Here are the numbers:

Total Weight Lost: 4.1 lbs.

Total Inches Lost: 7″

Though the results I experienced in the span of 21 days are great, what the program has really provided me, is a framework that is easy for me to continue with and adapt my lifestyle to on a continuing basis. The 21 Day Fix gave me a no-brainer way of jumpstarting better eating and exercising habits in my day-to-day life. Although I’m still not great at planning ahead, knowing the things I need to be eating at every meal has made it much easier and faster to shop for and cook meals on a daily basis. The workouts have shown me that I don’t have to dedicate a ton of time in order to see changes in my body and to start to feel like I’m actually getting fitter. Were the workouts still hard in the third week? Yes! Were they easier than they were on the first day? Absolutely!

All in all, the 21 Day Fix is a program that I would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking to jumpstart a change in their fitness and nutrition. Some people say that the type of things the program includes can be done on ones own, without paying the some-what high cost of the program. Do I agree? Yes. If some one is motivated enough, it would be definitely doable to construct a plan similar to the 21 day fix. For me though, it provided the tools I needed to make the changes in my life that I had been trying to make but never ended up sticking with. This alone justifies the cost to me.

We’ll see how well I continue with these lifestyle changes over the next few months and years. I really feel, though, that these changes are my new normal. Will I always be able to exercise and eat the most nutritionally sound diet every day? No and I don’t expect to! Life is crazy and busy, and things won’t always work out the way I want them to, but if I can continue eating right and exercising 90% of the time? Well, I’ll definitely consider that a success.

Leave a Reply

