Coffeeneuring #4 – Holy Roast Cafe

Friday, October 24 (employing vacation rule!): Holy Roast Cafe, 490 Mendocino Ave., Santa Rosa, CA

Ride #4 already! This challenge is going by so quickly!

Earlier in the week, I had planned to cycle to a cafe near the university where I work. Unfortunately between working late, watching the Giants smash game 1 and then crash and burn in game 2 of the World Series, and packing to go out of town this weekend, time got away from me and by Thursday night I realized that I still needed to complete my 4th coffeeneuring ride before I leave for vacation.

Friday morning I left the house around 6am and headed south toward downtown. The morning was dark and the fog became heavy about a mile and a half from the house. A couple of miles later, my trusty NiteRider headlight died. Crap! It was still dark outside and I still had a couple of miles until I reached my destination. I got off the main road and cycled the rest of the way on much less busy residential streets. I was worried that a) cars would not see me and I would get into an accident or b) because my night vision is pretty crappy, I would hit some sort of object in the road and be flung off my bike. Thankfully, I made it to Holy Roast Cafe unscathed. Whew!

The Cafe is in downtown Santa Rosa directly across from the Trek store and in the same building as the county health department offices. There was a bike rack located on the opposite side of the building from the cafe and I locked up my bike, hoping that it wouldn’t get stolen. Downtown Santa Rosa has a bad bike theft problem and the bike rack was in a location where I couldn’t keep an eye on my bike while in the cafe. I kept my fingers crossed that my trusty stead would still be there when I was ready to leave.

wpid-wp-1414172849747.jpeg

I walked into the warmly lit cafe and found a lovely, relaxed space with ample seating (both tables/chairs and comfy looking couches). The staff was incredibly friendly, and it seems that there are many regulars at this cafe, which the staff all seemed to know by name.

I enjoyed a really solid black bean breakfast burrito and a giant cup of drip coffee.

wpid-wp-1414172751181.jpeg

The cafe has free wifi and prices were very reasonable.

As I exited, I was relieved to see that my bike was still securely locked up.

wpid-wp-1414172732899.jpeg

Good start to the day and another nice coffeeneuring adventure.

Total mileage for the day: 5.2 miles. My Strava for this ride is here.

One thought on “Coffeeneuring #4 – Holy Roast Cafe

  1. Pingback: 2014 Coffeeneuring Challenge Wrap-Up | Rosie on the Move

Leave a Reply

