New Year, New Goals

I love the start of a new year! So full of possibility and excitement for things to come!

Every year, I create a list of goals I want to accomplish in the new year. I’m not great at planning ahead, mostly, I just do things on the fly. Having a list of goals is a good way for me to feel like I’m sucking less at being organized and a good planner. Ok, not really…having a list really just helps me attain long-term goals. I tend to have a “live in the moment” attitude, and things often fall off my radar if they’re not happening in the here and now. Having a set list of goals to accomplish forces me to keep things on the forefront of my life.

Thinking about the goals I set for myself last year and what I managed to accomplish, I knew that I wanted to set goals that  build upon the things that I accomplished last year. Mostly, I want to keep pushing my body to do things that I never thought it was capable of doing. I just read this short article in Outside Magazine, and these words from Dean Karnazes really resonated with me: “I think Western culture has things backwards. We equate comfort with happiness, and now we’re so comfortable we’re miserable. There’s no struggle in our life, no sense of adventure. I’ve found that I’m never more alive than when I’m pushing and I’m in pain and I’m struggling for high achievement. In that struggle, I think there’s a magic.”

Even though I’m setting out to accomplish some serious goals, I’ve thrown in a lot of fun ones, as well. I don’t ever want to take myself or life too seriously!

So, without further ado, my goals for 2015:

  1. Run a half-marathon (definitely the North Face Endurance Challenge)
  2. Run a 25k
  3. Cycle a full century
  4. Hike to the top of Mt. Whitney (dependent on whether I’m lucky in the permit lottery)
  5. Complete 30 Days of Biking
  6. Complete ’15 Coffeeneuring Challenge
  7. Complete ’15 Errandonnee Challenge
  8. Complete ’15 Brewvet
  9. Complete first solo backpack trip
  10. Hit goal weight

Lots of work to put in this year for sure, but I know i’m going to have a blast along the way!

What about you? Did you set any goals this year?

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Goals

  1. My “New Year’s” resolutions are just ideas that I happened to think of around January 1st, since I didn’t make any formal resolutions I just decided that they would have to make do. They are…
    Eat more vegetables
    Find someone to bike with once in a while instead of always being solo

Leave a Reply

