Re-assessing & re-working

I started this blog last year as a way to get my health back on track. Though I haven’t done the best job about blogging and meticulously chronicling every single workout and the types of nutrition choices I’m making, I feel like I’ve made some huge strides in the last year.

Though I’ve often focused on weight loss as a way to reach a healthier me, I’ve really begun to re-think this over the last couple of months. I’ve always struggled with having a positive body image. I’ve focused far too much energy on criticizing my body for what it’s not, rather than celebrating all of the amazing things it can do. A couple of months ago, someone shared this article via Facebook and I instantly had one of those “aha” moments. The article’s premise is that good health isn’t about being thin and that there are body-positive ways to live within a healthy body without focusing on weight. The stuff that it touches on isn’t new or groundbreaking, but it just made a big and immediate impact on me. I thought about that concept, that “health isn’t about being thin,” for a long time. Honestly, I’m still thinking about it. For me, it’s just such a different way to frame the conversation of health and body-image, and for the first time my thoughts about my body are really starting to shift.

A few weeks after I read the article, I happened to have my annual blood work done and I was ecstatic to see that for the first time in over 10 years, my cholesterol and blood pressure are all within the normal range! Along with that my PCOS symptoms have gotten SO much better. Even though I haven’t lost much weight over the last year, I still managed to make changes in my life that had real impact to my health. It’s funny, too, because for most of my adult life, my Dr’s have been telling me the only way I would ever really get my cholesterol and blood pressure and PCOS symptoms under control would be to loose weight. Well, I definitely proved that that isn’t necessarily the case. Does this mean that I’m going to stop working at working out and making the right food choices on a daily basis? Definitely not. If anything, knowing that that work I’ve done over the last year is actually making a difference is motivation to keep going.

So, what’s that mean for this blog? I’ve always asserted that I want to run, cycle, and hike my way to good health, and that’s definitely not changing! Things evolve over time. I’ll keep writing about my active adventures, but I think I’ll be focusing less on weekly workouts, weight loss, and nutrition, because, honestly, I find those topics to be less interesting and really kind of boring, compared to writing outdoor physical activities.

Leave a Reply

