Shite just got real!

Ever since I started backpacking, I’ve been dreaming about a certain epic hike. Over the last year, the desire to embark on this walk has been an incessant, constant thought in my brain. Having a regular 9-5 job, I wasn’t sure how I could ever really make this dream adventure a reality. Slowly, though, I realized that this was something I really, really wanted to do, and so I needed to find a way to MAKE it happen. So, over the summer, I approached my boss and asked to take a month off of work. When she approved my request, I almost burst into tears of joy.

Today, my plans became official.

This coming summer, I will be thru-hiking the John Muir Trail with my husband!!

Screen Shot 2016-01-25 at 1.36.24 PM

All of the thinking and planning that I’ve been doing over the last several months are finally REAL! I’m beyond excited. Like, I don’t even know how I’m going to make it through until summer without completely losing my shit on a regular basis, excited! Not going to lie, though…definitely a bit nervous. 7 mountain passes, just under 50,000 feet of cumulative elevation gain, and walking up the tallest mountain in the contiguous U.S., all in the (maybe) biggest snow year since 2011– just a bit scary. Just feeling all the feelings today. Let the planning begin!

2 thoughts on “Shite just got real!

Leave a comment